Trinity Health Foundation of East Tennessee hosted the 2023 Silver Lamp Awards on Thursday, January 11, 2024, at The Foundry. This year, Trinity recognized 18 healthcare professionals who received a Silver Lamp Award for continuing education during the 2023 calendar year. Nine hospitals in our area selected up to two individuals who exemplified outstanding leadership and dedication to receive these awards. Recipients received an award of $2,500 for continuing education to strengthen their skills and improve our community’s overall level of healthcare expertise.

The Silver Lamp Award originated in 2006 at the Baptist Health System Foundation. With hospitals facing financial challenges, funding for continuing education became increasingly scarce. These awards, funded through many generous donors, were established with input from physicians and administrators to maintain excellence in healthcare. The awards were continued at Mercy Health Partners until the sale of the hospital in October 2011. Trinity is proud to continue this tradition, honor donors’ intent, and provide continuing education opportunities to healthcare professionals throughout our community.

Trinity also honored 12 students who received the 2023-2024 Blake Scholarships. These are nursing and medical technology students selected for their academic achievement at Carson-Newman and Lincoln Memorial Universities. Recipients must be in their last two years of college and are selected by the staff at each university to receive a $5,000 scholarship toward their tuition, which is made possible by the generosity of the late Dr. and Mrs. Lynn Blake. Dr. Blake was chief of pathology services and director of laboratories at Baptist Hospital of East Tennessee for over 30 years. He and his wife, Georgia, graciously established the scholarship funds at the Baptist Health System Foundation in 2000. We are pleased to have continued these scholarships with the Trinity Foundation. Over the years, this generous gift from the Blakes has enabled many students to establish careers and benefit the patients these professionals serve.

Congratulations to all award recipients!